CAMRA’s National Pub of the Year is the annual competition to find the very best pub in the UK. The competition has been highlighting the best pubs in the country since 1988, and it helps to showcase quality pubs around the UK that are worth seeking out and visiting. More details can be found here. A list of previous national winners can be found here.

Each year, over 200 CAMRA branches including Nottingham select their Pub of the Year. The Nottingham Branch winner proceeds through to the Nottinghamshire competition against other pubs in the county. The winner of the Nottinghamshire round then battles it out with the winners of the Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and Derbyshire competitions for the title of East Midlands Pub of the Year. The East Midlands is one of sixteen regions which are split into four super regions from which a winner from each goes through to the finals stage. From these final four the ultimate winner is declared.

Whilst a Branch is free to use its own criteria to declare a Pub of the Year, Nottingham Branch uses the national judging system employed throughout the rest of the competition. This used to have six categories however for 2020 an extra two categories were introduced. The categories are:

  • Quality and Condition of Real Ale / Cider / Perry
  • Promotion and Knowledge of Real Ale
  • Cleanliness and Hygiene
  • Service, Welcome and Offering
  • Style, Décor and Furnishings
  • Community Focus and Atmosphere
  • Sympathy with CAMRA’s Aims
  • Overall Impression and Value

Each of the judges scores the pubs in the above categories and the results are compiled to produce a winner.

How do you become Nottingham Pub of the Year?

We ask for nominations from the branch membership, any pub can be nominated so long as it meets two criteria, it is within the branch area and it sells real ales and/or ciders. Once all the nominations are in a list of pubs to judge is compiled, this is split into pubs in the urban area and those within villages. Anyone within the branch is able to judge the pubs, either on their own or by joining an organised group visit. The only criterion is that all the pubs have to be judged. All the scores are compiled to produce a winner and runner up in each section along with an overall winner. The results are announced in March and the presentation of a certificate is made to the winners and runners up. The overall winner then goes forward to the Nottinghamshire round.

Details of the 2022 winners can be found here

A list of previous Nottingham Pub of the Year Winners can be found here

Previous Nottinghamshire Pub of the Year Winners can be found here

Previous East Midlands Pub of the Year Winners can be found here

Previous National Pub of the Year Winners can be found here